Crete TOURnet: Home Tourism Directory Restaurants Cretan Traditional Products Monastery of Holy Trinity Tzagaroladon
Crete Tourism Directory

Cretan Traditional Products Monastery of Holy Trinity Tzagaroladon

Street: Kathiana
Phone: 28210 63571


The Ecological Monastery. The monastery of Agía Triáda Tsagarólon is located in the region of Akrotíri in Haniá. It was built in the beginning of the 17th century by a Venetian Cretan family.

It is situated 15km from the town of Haniá. Take the road towards Haniá airport and turn left at the junction before the airport. After 1km turn left again, and keep on driving until you see the first farms of the monastery.

Agía Triáda operates as a model monastery when it comes to organic farming. In the past few years organic farming has developed just like olive oil production. As a whole, 20 tons of organic extra virgin olive oil are extracted from the monastery’s crop, and in cooperation with local producers. In particular, stringent procedures are followed for the cultivation and production of olive oil. The monastery features its own oil press, 60-80% of its olive oil production is exported to many countries, such as Germany, Canada, and China. The monastery also produces its very own famous organic wine, as well as vinegar, balsamic vinegar and green soap. All of the aforementioned products are of a superior quality.

The monastery’s olive oil has won important prizes in international contests. In Biol's contest that took place in 2006, the monastery's olive oil won the award for the best organic extra virgin olive oil. In 2007 it was awarded the first prize for its quality, as well as the prize for the best Greek olive oil of the competition.

The main church in the centre of the courtyard was built in the style encountered in Mount Athos and, according to tradition, was copied by monk Jeremiah. As far as its other elements are concerned, it constitutes one of the most typical masterpieces of Cretan Renaissance. The cupolas had not yet been built when the region of Haniá fell into the hands of the Turks in 1645. They were completed, in 1836, together with the chapels on the first floor. The wood-carved gold-filled chancel screen was built in 1836 and the majority of the icons were painted in 1840 by the prominent painter Mercurius from Santoríni. The chancel screens in the south chapel and the small temple of the Saviour date to the 17th century.

Remarkable is the ground floor, the vaulted charnel house with the elegant cemetery temple of the Saviour on the first floor, the altar, the original abbey, the underground vaulted rooms of the olive oil press, the fountain, the large cistern and the wine cellar. The east wing houses the former Ecclesiastical School founded at the end of the 19th century. In the north part of the Monastery lies the more recent, vaulted olive oil press dating back to the 18th century, as well as a number of ancillary buildings.

Even though the majority of the religious treasures were lost during the course of history, a series of icons are exhibited in the small museum of the monastery, and more specifically the icons of Saint Ioánnis Theológos (16th century), Saint Nikólaos (17th century), the Pantocrator on the throne, Zoodóchos Pigí and the Day of Judgement among others, all painted by the distinguished painter Emmanouíl Skordílis from Haniá. In addition, Agía Triáda is home to gold-embroidered canonicals, a handwritten Mass scroll dating back to the 12th century, more recent manuscripts, books, documents, crosses, and other religious treasures.

The monastery is a unique sight by itself that attracts many pilgrims on a daily basis. Gouvernéto Monastery is a stone throw's away from Agía Triáda, while generally the region of Akrotíri boasts a number of marvellous beaches and natural landscapes.

Tel: (+30)2821063571.
Fax: (+30)2821063328

Powered by Sigsiu.NET RSS Feeds